02 January 2013

the five love languages

I was talking with someone today about love languages. Essentially, our love language is the type of affection by which we experience love to the fullest. And in discussing with this person, I realized that I've actually heard this referenced a lot lately in the most random of contexts. It can be helpful both to let those important to you know how best to love you, and in return, how best to love them.

I'll give you an example.

Today, I was talking to Chris about how I may have been a little bummed that lately our schedules haven't lined up in a way for us to spend much time together. After the yapping {on my end}, he said "Did you notice that I did just pick you up from work and filled your car up with gas?" 


Then I told him about all of this love languages business, and that knowing each others love languages could be fun and useful, even. And that's why after taking this test, I was not surprised to find out that my love language is quality time. For someone with this particular language, "nothing says 'I love you' like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there - with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby - makes you feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed activities, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful."

Welp, that about sums me up perfectly. 

The other love languages are words of affirmation {unsolicited compliments}, physical touch, acts of service {easing the burden of responsibilities on another person} and receiving gifts.
I'm excited at the possibility that I just may be able to convince my loved ones to take this test - the test spans romantic love, familial love and platonic love as well. Wouldn't it be great if we all knew best how to love each other, while letting others know how best to love us?
If you want to take the test, you can do so here.

No comments:

Post a Comment